ITIL® Managing Across the Lifecycle

Course Code: 7000


In this 5-day capstone course you will cover content from the ITIL® core library at the expert level. Close attention will be paid to how the various ITIL best practices work together and interact with one another to ensure that organizations are efficiently and effectively designing, creating, delivering, and improving IT services. This course deeply engages participants in the concepts covered throughout the ITIL core library, in the context of a single case study, which is the same case study used in the actual ITIL Expert certification exam. This course builds upon prior ITIL courses at the foundation and the intermediate level, and prepares you to complete the Managing Across the Lifecycle certification exam, which once complete, is one of the key components to achieving the ITIL Expert certification.

Please note, this course and all of our accredited ITIL courses are only offered together with the respective exam.

ITIL® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

Schedule Classes

Looking for more sessions of this class?
itil logo

Course Delivery

This course is available in the following formats:

Live Classroom
Duration: 5 days

Live Virtual Classroom
Duration: 5 days

What You'll learn

Basic concepts of IT service management

  • Key concepts of the service lifecycle
  • Details about ITIL processes and functions
  • How ITIL processes and functions work together
  • Communication and stakeholder management
  • How service management processes integrate throughout the service lifecycle to deliver business value
  • How services are managed across the lifecycle
  • The value of governance, roles and people
  • Competency and the organization
  • Measurements, metrics and key performance indicators
  • Implementation and improvements of service management capabilities


  • The purpose of this course
  • Building on foundation and intermediate level knowledge
  • Understanding the MALC exam
  • Structure of the MALC exam
  • Understanding and applying bloom’s taxonomy
  • Type of questions on the MALC exam
  • Case study used in the course and in the exam
  • What is ITIL?
  • Why are best practices important?
  • Public vs. proprietary approaches
  • Sources of best practices
  • Benefits of ITIL
  • The concepts of a service
  • Types of services
  • What is service management
  • Challenges of service management
  • Utility, warranty and value
  • Service providers
  • Stakeholders
  • Assets
  • Processes
  • Functions
  • Roles
  • RACI
  • The service lifecycle map
  • Services, service management and IT service management
  • Functions and roles throughout the lifecycle
  • RACI and role definition and clarification
  • Elements of value
  • Business value and the ITIL lifecycle
  • Risk management approaches
  • Knowledge management and the service knowledge management system
  • Business relationship management throughout the lifecycle
  • Communication activities of business relationship management
  • Stakeholder management and communication
  • Defining and using service models
  • Designing coordination , stakeholder management and communication
  • Services and communication
  • Managing stakeholder communications and commitment throughout the lifecycle
  • Communication and service operation
  • Developing a communication strategy and plan
  • Integrating service management processes throughout the lifecycle
  • How service strategy interacts with other lifecycle stages
  • Inputs and outputs between the lifecycle stages
  • Business value of service management processes
  • Interfaces of service management processes
  • Importance of a balanced approach to service design
  • How design coordination and transition planning and support contribute to service management
  • Lifecycle stages of service transition
  • Managing services throughout the lifecycle
  • Operations personnel involvement in other lifecycle stages
  • Sources of information and their effect on service improvement
  • Strategic assessments
  • Challenges, risks and critical success factors for strategy, design, transition and operations lifecycle stages
  • Governance framework
  • Governance activities
  • Governance bodies
  • Service providers and governance
  • Change management and governance
  • Management systems
  • Establishing and maintaining a service management system
  • Organizational development and departmentalization
  • Logical structures for a service provider
  • Functions and types of service providers
  • Implementation of organizational structures
  • Sourcing strategies
  • Measuring and demonstrating value
  • Determining and using metrics
  • Approaches to monitoring and control
  • Using event management tools
  • Implementing service management
  • Implementing service management processes
  • Implementing service management tools
  • Type of assessments
  • Conducting assessments
  • Techniques for improving service management
  • Methods for implementing service management
Each participant receives a copy of the following Kindle books:

  • The Service Management Expert’s Guide to Managing across the Lifecycle
  • Service Management Expert Practice Questions
  • The Service Management Expert’s Tool Box
View More


Participants of this course need to have completed ITIL foundation and have 15 additional credits earned by completing exams at the ITIL intermediate level. Participants should have a minimum of 17 credits from the ITIL certification scheme.

Who should attend

  • IT professionals
  • Service desk professionals
  • Business professionals
  • Executive leadership
  • Service management professionals
  • Incident managers
  • Problem managers
  • Business relationship managers
  • Change managers
  • Quality improvement professionals
  • Those interested or involved in application of ITIL and service management best practices
  • Those interested in achieving the ITIL Expert certification

Interested in this course? Let’s connect!

Certification Exam Details

The ITIL® Managing Across the Lifecycle exam is a 10 question multiple-choice exam that uses a single case study provided during the class prior to the exam. Up to all 10 of the questions can be based on the case study, but a minimum of 8 of the questions definitely will be. Two of the questions may cover generic ITIL topics unrelated to the case study. If a question is about the case study, it will provide additional information to supplement the case study. Native English speakers are allowed 2 hours to take the exam. If English is your second language you are allowed an additional 30 minutes for a total of 2 hours and 30 minutes.

The exam is gradient-scored, meaning that for each of the 10 questions there are 4 possible answers. Answers reward a different number of points based on level of accuracy according to the following scale:

  • Best answer – 5 points
  • 2nd Best answer – 3 points
  • 3rd Best answer – 1 point
  • Worst answer – 0 points

A passing score on the exam is 35 or more points out of the 40 possible points, or 70% or above. The ITIL® Managing Across the Lifecycle certification is an intermediate-level certification that demonstrates in-depth understanding of the concepts described throughout the ITIL core library. The ITIL Expert credential is earned upon receiving a passing score on this exam (assuming all other requirements are met). The exam can be delivered paper-based or online. Upon passing the certification exam, you are awarded 5 credits in the ITIL® certification scheme.